Pattern: Simple Beret

I call this my “Hair Hider” hat on my Ravelry project pages, because I wanted something big enough to tuck my hair into on those days when I’m running late and don’t have enough time to do my hair, or those days when I’m just sitting round the house and don’t FEEL like doing my hair.  But what it is, really, is just a simple beret.

Note: Pattern is for the beret ONLY.  Embellishments, if you want any, are up to you.

Simple Beret

©2008, Suzanne M. Barrow

Materials Needed:

  • Less than 100 grams DK yarn (sport weight would probably be a good substitute if you can’t get any DK)
  • Size G (4.0 mm) hook
  • Yarn needle (for weaving in ends and/or sewing on embellishments)

Ch 4, join with a sl st in first ch to form ring

Round 1: ch 3 (counts as first dc), dc 11 into ring, join with a sl st into top of ch 3.

Round 2: ch 3, dc in same st as joining, 2 dc in each st around, join.

Round 3: ch 3, 2 dc in next st, *1 dc in next st, 2 dc in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 4: ch 3, dc in next st, 2 dc in next st, *dc in each of the next 2 sts, 2 dc in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 5: ch 3, dc in next 2 sts, 2 dc in next st, *dc in each of the next 3 sts, 2 dc in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 6: ch 3, dc in next 3 sts, 2 dc in next st, *dc in each of the next 4 sts, 2 dc in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 7: ch 3, dc in next 4 sts, 2 dc in next st, *dc in each of the next 5 sts, 2 dc in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 8: ch 3, dc in next 5 sts, 2 dc in next st, *dc in each of the next 6 sts, 2 dc in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 9: ch 3, dc in next 6 sts, 2 dc in next st, *dc in each of the next 7 sts, 2 dc in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 10: ch 3, dc in next 7 sts, 2 dc in next st, *dc in each of the next 8 sts, 2 dc in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Rounds 11-15: ch 3, dc in each st around, join.

Round 16: ch 3, dc in each of the next 7 sts, dc2tog in next st, *dc in each of the next 8 sts, dc2tog in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 17: ch 3, dc in each of the next 6 sts, dc2tog in next st, *dc in each of the next 7 sts, dc2tog in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 18: ch 3, dc in each of the next 5 sts, dc2tog in next st, *dc in each of the next 6 sts, dc2tog in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 19: ch 3, dc in each of the next 4 sts, dc2tog in next st, *dc in each of the next 5 sts, dc2tog in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join.

Round 20: ch 1, sc in each st around, join.

Round 21: ch 1, sc in blo in each st around, join.

Round 22: ch 1, sc in blo in each st around, join.

Round 23: ch 1, sc in blo in each st around, join.

Fasten off, weave in ends.

Note 1: I made this specifically to fit my own head.  I have absolutely no idea if my head is average size, bigger than average, or smaller than average.  I recommend trying it on after Round 19.  If it’s too big, decrease one more row (ch 3, dc in each of the next 3 sts, dc2tog in next st, *dc in each of the next 4 sts, dc2tog in next st**, repeat from * to ** around, join).  If it’s too small, frog back one row and do one row even (ch 3, dc in each st around, join).  [Or, if you’re REALLY anally retentively perfectionistic like I am, frog back ALL your decrease rows, do an extra row even, and THEN do your decreases, making sure you do one less than the pattern dictates.)

Note 2: You can easily make this hat even more slouchy if you want.  Simply do more increase rows.

Optional: Embellishments

I literally just looked up a flower pattern on the Ravelry database, picked one, and did it in the same yarn I did the hat in.  If you’re on Ravelry, here’s a quick search link for you: click me. If not, here’s a link to the appliques list at Crochet Pattern Central: click me.  What you do, where you put it, what color you do it in… it’s all up to you.  Make it your own.  Give it your own flair.  Be creative!  😀

14 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Adorable!! Everyone needs a good hair hider.

  2. 2

    Sissy said,

    OH OH OH… can I have one?! That looks CUTE!!! And it SO goes on you!

  3. 3

    nuckingfutz said,

    Um… sure! What color? And do you want some sort of embellishment? I’ve got the pattern for the flower I used on there saved on the desktop here, so I can do you an exact replica if you want, or I can do something else. Just let me know! 😀

  4. 4

    nuckingfutz said,

    Oh, and just a word of warning: I may be late with your Christmas presents this year. They’re done… it’s just that money’s so tight right now, I’m just not sure if I’m going to be able to afford the postage on top of everything else I’ve got to be paying out right now. I don’t know, because I have no idea how much the postage is actually going to BE. IF I end up having to send them late, I’ll DEFINITELY get them to you in January.

    Just thought I’d give ya a heads up. 🙂

  5. 5

    Sissy said,

    Hey, I don’t care if it comes late, I am just happy that you will be able to send presents this year – I know how you usually are with the financials out there, I am going through it right now (actually did not know how we were going to afford food for dinner tonight!).

    And you know my favorite color is blue, girl! I love the flower you have on yours, it looks perfect with that design.

  6. 6

    nuckingfutz said,

    Okey dokey! Not a problem! I’ll have a look through my stash, see what I’ve got. If I don’t have anything good, I’ll pick something up when I go into town. I can get it for 79p a skein at one place, or £1 at another. Not exactly expensive! 😉 At least not for the acrylic. Now if I wanted to do it in “fancy” yarn… well, that’s another story.

    And out of my budget! *lol*

  7. 7

    Sissy said,

    Sweetheart, when I get some money saved up (as in after I get my Avon stuff flying around and actually have a profit coming in), I am going to run to the stores around here and find every skien of yarn that is on sale and buy it up and send it to you!! Man I miss you! When the kids are a bit older and I feel more comfortable with them having passports (G is wiling to let them have passports and even be stationed out of country with me, but I am not that comfy with him taking the kids out of country, and I don’t want to give him a double standard on that issue), we might take a shot at getting stationed at one of the military facilities over there… apparently there IS a base or a unit on a British base over there, one of the guys in SO’s unit just transfered out there recently!

  8. 8

    nuckingfutz said,

    Oh, I know there is one… I just can’t remember exactly where it is. It’s somewhere in the middle of the country, if I remember right, though. Not as far south as London, not as far north as me. A nice middle ground, I guess you would say.

    But the train system here is pretty good! Comparatively, anyway. It’s not as good as it once was, but compared to what WE’RE used to? It’s friggin’ FANTASTIC. *lol*

  9. 9

    Sissy said,

    Email me the name of the installation… I want to talk to the ex and the fiance about it. Maybe the two of them will request assignment there in a few years… I am sure you would like the chance to beat the living daylights out of ex for leaving me, and meet and smack SO for his screw up last year and welcome him to the family!

  10. 10

    nuckingfutz said,

    Heh. Honestly, if you’d asked me before, I would have said “hell yeah I want to beat the living hell out of him!!!”

    BUT.

    A) I think he’s realized his own mistake, if what you’ve said is anything to go by. And if he has, no amount of beating from me is going to come close to what he’d do to himself.

    and

    B) I have to admit a grudging respect for the way he’s been treating you lately. What you told me quite literally blew my mind. Just… wow. Like whoah.

    As for J… well, I’d like to HOPE I wouldn’t have to give him a beat-down.

    I’ll ask B about it later (he’s in bed at the moment). If he doesn’t know the name of the place, I’m sure he’d know how to find it.

  11. 11

    nuckingfutz said,

    Okay, just talked to B. He INSISTS that there IS NO ARMY (emphasis on the ARMY part) base here. He says that you’re not allowed to have one here, according to the treaty between the US and UK.

    There IS, however, an AIR FORCE base.

    http://www.lakenheath.af.mil/

    We’re not sure, but the best we can figure is that there’s either a small army contingent on the RAF base, or maybe the guy is on loan to the British army? Cause B knows that the UK have sent soldiers over to the US, like on a consultant-type basis.

    One of his best friend’s cousins is over there right now, teaching urban combat (he’s a Northern Ireland vet). Plus, TECHNICALLY, B was IN the British Army. For something like a day or whatever, but TECHNICALLY he was. (He literally walked out the door and got hit by a car; military career over.)

    Man, he’s talented, ain’t he? *lol*

  12. 12

    Sissy said,

    I know for a fact that the US Army has done an officer exchange with UK, because I have read a blog about it. So if there is no Army post, then we must have a detatchment on the Air Force base… it is pretty much standard, if Army and Air Force posts are not within like 20 miles of each other, then they will have a unit on their installation.

  13. 13

    Sissy said,

    Just talked to SO, he says his guy IS goign to a RAF installation, but Army will still go to the Air Force base… not an easy assignment to get, even stateside!

  14. 14

    nuckingfutz said,

    Yep, that’s what I was thinking. ‘Cuz I’m sure you weren’t imagining things, but there had to be SOME sort of explanation!

    And from what we were able to find, Lakenheath is the only American AF base here. So that would be where J’s guy is, most likely.

    And I was right. Lakenheath is in the midlands somewhere – the midlands being so named because it is in the middle of the land. 😉


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

