Speaking of publishing patterns…

I finally figured out how to add my patterns to the Ravelry database.  I spent about a half hour yesterday adding the ones that I thought would be the most popular.

This is what it looks like.

This is what it looks like.

You can find it here.

I wonder… does this make me an “official” designer?  😉

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sissy said,

    Hey… the day you made your first own design that was not from someone else’s, as far as I am concerned, you became an official designer – just not a professional one since you don’t get paid for it… dang, too bad!

  2. 2

    nuckingfutz said,

    Oh, I wouldn’t rule that out just yet! You never know. I may submit my design to a book publication or a (real-life) magazine… or I might just start asking people to pay for the patterns instead of just putting them out there for free.

    But before I do that, I want to:

    1. Solidify my pattern-writing skills. (Hence all the free patterns: this way I can get feedback on how clear [or UNclear] the pattern is.)

    2. Learn how to create charts (example in the linky-link). After doing a scarf from a chart (and finally figuring out how to READ the darned thing), I realize that a chart really IS the easiest way of following a pattern – and it doesn’t involve any language barriers!

    3. Learn how to create PDFs. Even just selling my own patterns via LuLu, Etsy, or Ravelry, I’d have to have them in PDF format. And I don’t know how to do that yet.

  3. 3

    Sissy said,

    Well… lucky your sister is marrying a computer wiz… who also knows how to create PDFs… he says you got to have the right software to make a PDF, but he says if you send him a text document, he can probably turn it into one for you, since he has that kind of software!

  4. 4

    nuckingfutz said,

    Tell him I said thank you, but it turns out I needn’t worry.

    Apparently B has the software somewhere in the computer room, and he says that basically I just create a word document and it’ll save it into a PDF file for me. A couple of clicks, and I’m done.

    Now if only he had a solution for my chart problem…. *grin*


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

