Change in plans… maybe.

I was all set to publish the Rosy Shells pattern here on the blog, but then I saw a thread on Ravelry.

Crochet Uncut is accepting pattern submissions for its first-ever issue.

So, since I already had the pattern all written up (I was waiting to get the pictures finished before posting the pattern), I decided what the hell?  Give it a shot, anyway.  What have I got to lose?

If it’s rejected, I can still publish the pattern here (I haven’t deleted the draft I have saved on my dashboard).  But if it’s accepted… well, how cool would that be???  😀

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sissy said,

    Does being published mean you are not allowed to post it here on your blog? I thought that even if you are published, you still own the pattern, unless you SELL the pattern to them, so unless you sell it, you have every right to give it out as you see fit.

  2. 2

    nuckingfutz said,

    From the FAQ on the Crochet Uncut website:

    Submissions must be new, not published or shown anywhere else prior to submission to Crochet Uncut. This does not include use for private testing purposes prior to submission.

    And then there’s this:

    Submitting an article certifies that article is your own work and copyrighted by you, grants permission for Crochet Uncut/Darlisa Riggs to publish the article on the Crochet Uncut website for the lifetime of the site, that you retain all copyrights to the article and images, and once the next issue of the magazine is released after publication of the article, that you can submit the article elsewhere for publication.

    I believe – although I’m not 100% sure – that each publication (and although this is online, it’s still considered a publication) can make their own rules as to what they will accept and what they won’t accept. So technically they could say they want every pattern to have a mention of blue striped flying monkeys and it would be legal. 😉

    Providing it gets published, what I’ll be doing is posting a direct link from here to the page on the magazine site that it’s on. And if it’s not, then I’ll just publish it here, a few weeks later than I originally intended. (Although the feedback I’ve gotten so far is good – the only problem was a FORMATTING issue.) It shouldn’t be long, though – the woman running the show wants to have the first issue up by November 1st, and that’s only a few weeks away. 🙂

  3. 3

    Sissy said,

    Yea… sounds like once it is published, you can do whatever you want to with it, just as long as the magazine gets to put it out there first. BTW… peanut gallery here says he wants to come visit you over there sometime – maybe we can make that a belated honeymoon since it looks like we are going to have to skip a “real” one thanks to finances being so bad… as in our elec got shut off and we can’t afford food.

  4. 4

    nuckingfutz said,

    Ouch.

    I can relate. That’s definitely something I can relate to.

    But yeah! As long as I’m in THIS house, I’ll definitely have the room. The couch in the computer room is actually a sofa bed, there are 2 couches in the living room, and between the kids’ rooms, there’d be plenty of room for the kidlets to find somewhere to crash.

    It wouldn’t be as nice as a 4-star hotel, granted. But we wouldn’t be crammed or anything. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

