Why yes, I DO have shrug on the brain. Why do you ask?

But to be honest, I started this one before either of the Beatrice shrugs.  I’ve been wanting to make one of these for the longest time, I just didn’t believe that it would look good on me and I had to think of the perfect yarn to make it with once I decided fuck it, I’m going to try anyway.

I can’t remember exactly why, but I went looking through my stash and found this yarn that I’ve had in there for about 2 years now.  I actually bought it at my local Wilkinson’s, of all places.  It’s not exactly what you’d think of when you think “buy yarn,” but they actually have some pretty nice novelty yarns (for only 99p per 50g skein), as well as a few colors of the basic acrylic staple (for 89p per 100g skein).

I’m using the “Fluffy Pink Shrug Schematics” (also known as a Mrs Who shrug) to make it.  I was actually an active member of Crochetville when it was first posted, so I’ve been loving on this pattern for a long time now.  I’m not sure if you can tell from the pic, but I’m making it half-sleeved.  If this comes out as well as I’m hoping, I’m considering doing another one in the same type of yarn but different color (it comes in three colorways: brown, green, and purple; all have the metallic thread woven throughout to give it the shimmer).  I might make the next one full-sleeved, since it’s going to be getting cold soon anyway, and it gets FREEZING in this house (it’s very drafty).

Because I’m obsessed with ripples lately, I’m doing the collar/back in a round ripple.  I’ve done a round ripple blanket before, so I’m basically following what I remember from the instructions for that.  I’ve only done one full round and part of another, but it looks good so far!

I’m keeping this in the laundry basket that I carry around the house with me.  I work on stuff first thing in the morning, while sitting at the computer desk, in the living room at the end of the night when all of my daily chores are done… pretty much whenever I have a spare moment, really.  Right now I’m all gung-ho on Syrina’s Beatrice, but I figure if I keep it in my basket, then whenever I get the urge, I can pull it out and work on it a bit.  It’s going to take a lot longer than the Beatrice did, simply because the yarn is so thin and I have to use a small hook (3 mm).  But it’ll be worth it in the end.  🙂

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Mrs. Who Shrug in brown (okay, it’s more like a cardigan, but it’s CALLED a shrug) […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

