Ravelympics 2008 – Beatrice shrug. Sort of.

I had grand visions of making myself a Beatrice shrug.  I even asked Hubby’s opinion, and he said he thought something like that would look good on me.

Finally, the start of Ravelympics 2008 came, and I whipped out my yarn and hook, and tried to make a go of it.  And Could. Not. make heads or tails of the pattern.  No matter how many times I tried, I just couldn’t make sense of it.

But the more I looked at it, the more I realized that what it was was just a more intricate ripple stitch.  And considering the yarn I’m using (Paton’s Spritz) is a very sparkly yarn, I realized that a simple ripple stitch pattern would suffice, as the sparkle adds enough oomph all on its own.

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that the pattern as written wouldn’t be appropriate for me anyway.  With a size 38F/FF chest, there is no way in HELL that a bust measurement of 34 inches was going to fit me.  No way, no how.

However, using a jersey shrug as a guide, and using the basic pattern of the Beatrice shawl (ripple stitch, made in one piece from elbow to elbow), I think I’m going to end up with something that will not only fit me, but will look good as well.

This is what I had as of last night:

My sort of Beatrice shrug

My "sort of" Beatrice shrug

I like it.  I think it’ll be good for when I go clubbing with my friends, too.  🙂

Leave a Reply

